Nowadays, we are bombarded on social media with photos of Instagram models, celebrities, and if you follow anything fitness related, before and after photos of people on diets and fitness regimes. It seems to me, the more I try and connect within social media to my chosen industry, the more I feel like everyone’s before photo. Somedays, I don’t feel good enough because I don’t look like Ashy Bines or Kayla Itsines, that all my meals aren’t 100% healthy/Instagram worthy, or that I don’t have popular workouts.

These are my thoughts some days scrolling through Facebook.

It can be quiet a hit a hit to my confidence. I’ve wrote about fitspiration before and how it needs to continue to change but there is also things that I can do to immediately to make myself feel better and regain my confidence. I deserve to be happy and to be confidence in being my own unique person. So I developed a few of my own techniques and here they are!

Five ways how I feel more confident, instantly!

1. Put on my favourite outfit (that I know I look good in) and have a dance party. I know I look good, so what is there to be insecure about? My favourites usually include what I’ve deemed as “comfy sexy”, a mix between something really sexy (think lacey and body fitting) and super comfy (sweat pants or loose button ups). Perfect for moving and dancing in the kitchen!

2. Do my hair and make-up. I always feel way more confident if I’ve put a bit of effort into my look. Even if it’s just mascara and a cute messy bun, spending a bit of time on myself, instantly makes me feel better.

3. Use power words and phases. Some days, simply saying something positive and uplifting to yourself can do the trick! I use “I am” statements to pack the most punch and it really helps me believe in what I am saying. Some of the strongest ones are “I am confident”, “I am strong”, “I am beautiful”, and “I am going to succeed”. Because why shouldn’t I be my biggest cheerleader?

4. Doing something I love and/or something I am good at. For a bit of an ego boost, I choose something like one of my favourite exercises (deadlifts or strangely enough right now, jumping jacks), bake a tasty treat (mmmm….. chocolate chip cookies….) or simple play one of my favourite games (Tavern Brawls in Hearthstone anyone?). Anything that makes me feel successful or simple gives me that exercise high is fair game. Because it’s hard to feel down when you are succeeding!

IMG_4235.JPG

Freshly Baked Chocolate Chip Cookies

5. Write “Don’t Panic” in large, friendly letter across my mirror/agenda/computer screen, grab my towel, and try to find an electronic thumb to hitch a ride on a Vogon ship and leave all my problems on Earth. Still trying to find that electronic thumb….

What are some of the ways you get your mojo back? Let me know in the comments below!

Happy Confidence!

-SB

