Yesterday my partner and I decided to break our typically 9:30pm bedtime and catch a 9pm showing of Suicide Squad. While we may be slightly paying for it today (we both ended up taking a long nap), it was so worth it! Getting to see one of the most highly anticipated movies of 2016 opening weekend hands down was worth losing a bit of sleep over it. Yep, I am a geek like that.

If you want to see the movie without another opinion weighing you down, I would stop reading here. For my review, keep reading on! I will try to keep any major spoilers out of it, but I will put “MINOR SPOILER ALERT!” just to be safe. You’ve been warned.

My Thoughts.

While I have watched all the trailers released for Suicide Squad, I don’t know a ton of the lore surrounding all the characters. The Batman Universe never held my interest until The Dark Knight. Which made the character introductions in the movie quite helpful and I feel needed. They helped us newbies know what was going on, without going crazy in-depth. Especially helpful when it came down to little things, such as Boomerang’s pink unicorn that he carries with him during the movie. So well down to a set up that didn’t overstay it’s welcome.

The character I was most excited for, along with so many fans, was Harley Quinn. I am not 100% which backstory they used, but Harley Quinn came off as super likeable and fun. She set up comedic situations without seeming forced, held her own during a fight, and has added another iconic outfit that I can’t wait to cosplay! One thing I didn’t like about Harley Quinn though: her accent. It went from strong Brooklyn to “princess-y” (my partners’ description) to “everyday normal” to another “everyday normal” without any real consistency. While I know Harley Quinn is crazy, Margot Robbie’s changing accent was downright distracting at points.

As for plot, the main plot line I enjoyed quite a bit. It wasn’t anything flashy and had the usually “oh that’s real covenant” moments but also had plenty of action sequences and no real “forced” dialogue. It was the Joker/Harley Quinn subplot that I had a problem with. I understand the need to set up characters and explore backstories, but this one just felt flat to me. Jared Leto had pretty big shoes to fill after Health Ledger’s Joker’s performance in the Dark Knight, and he came off un-relatable and almost one dimensional. Yes, I know the Joker’s crazy and outlandish, but when the scheme to break Harley Quinn out of prison seems boring and out of place it kind of makes the overall movie a little flat at points.

One point that also bugged my partner and I as we left the theatre: if you keep Enchantress’s heart in a locked box that triggers every time she get’s near it, why is her brother’s statue just hanging out on a shelf in an easy to get into office without any protection? I mean seriously, shouldn’t it be in some research lab under the same type of protection to ensure that something like the witch doesn’t come out of it too? And who keeps priceless artifacts just chilling in their broom closet of an office! Ugh, could have been done so much better.

Lastly, the overall “Suicide Squad” actually felt like a team by the end of the film. When you toss a bunch of well-known and well liked characters together (cough, cough The Avengers) there isn’t always a level of cohesion that is believable. I will admit the focus does seem primarily on Harley Quinn, Deadshot, and Col. Rick Flagg (hmmm… maybe Will Smith and Margot Robbie have something to do with that.) the rest of the team (Captain Boomerang, Killer Croc, El Diablo, and Katana) more then hold their own on screen. Whether in a fight scene or sitting at a bar, all these characters feel like they belong together in the same room and aren’t kids sitting at the adults table.

So final thought: Suicide Squad is a fun, well paced, enjoyable date night movie. It probably won’t blow you out of the water and you can always nit pick the details, but if you are looking for a new group of “heroes” to root for, it’s worth checking out.

Rating: 4/5

Have you seen Suicide Squad? What are your thoughts?

Happy Watching!
-SB
Follow my blog with Bloglovin

