Spiced Pancake Recipe
Yield: 10 medium sized pancakes

This post is a follow up to my Favorite Food in my Friday Favorites. I am absolutely in love with pancakes and pretty much eat them on a weekly bases. After testing out a few versions, this is my version that I have come to enjoy. It is a great basic, with staples all found in your pantry. The ingredients listed are for a double recipe for a single person, so store unused batter in a container in the fridge. (Makes for an easy breakfast day 2!) 

So lets eat!

Ingredients:
2 eggs
1 ½ cups milk
4 Tablespoons of butter, melted
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup white flour
1 cup wholemeal flour
3 teaspoons baking powder
1-2 teaspoons of allspice or cinnamon
Sprinkle of salt

Directions:
In a bowl, beat eggs until fluffy. (I hand beat with a whisk, so I beat until my arm gets tired.)
Add milk to eggs, whisking until fluffy again.
Add butter and vanilla, whisk well. (Or until your arm feels really tired! I sometime count this as a mini arm workout.)
Add dry ingredients and mix well. (I find that adding one cup of flour at a time and mixing a bit before adding the 2nd cup ensures a smoother batter.)
Heat pan to medium heat (or until added water droplets sizzle on contact). Grease pan with butter if desired, before heating.
Drop batter in desired pancake size onto pan. Cook time on each time will vary, but flip once pancake is golden brown.
Serve warm.

As this is a pretty basic pancake recipe, it is perfect to top with fruit (I love peaches or strawberries), maple syrup (I am Canadian) or your favorite jam or jelly (my family’s favorite is nanking cherry). This recipe might not be the healthiest out there, it is a great basic pancake that is easily adapted to suite individual tastes. So tweak to your hearts content!
Happy Brunching!
-SB

